C is for Cookie

C is for Cookie

C is for Cookie is one of my favourite Sesame Street songs. I sing it all the time. In fact I was humming it the other day while making some super delicious Peanut Butter and Chocolate Chip Cookies. As I licked my mixing spoon clean (don’t tell my mum!) I got to thinking about the alphabet – as one does – and what foody terms each letter could stand for.

A is for Avocado

B is for Bun

C is for Cookie

D is for Done (not too well-done please, I like my steak rare)

E is for Eggy

F is for Flan

G is for Grilled

H is for Ham

I is for Icing

J is for Jus

K is for Kumquat

L is for Loo (if you eat too many kumquats you’ll need one of those)

M is for Mincemeat

N is for Naan

O is for Olive Oil

P is for Pan

Q is for Quince

R is for Rice

S is for Spaghetti

T is for Twice (I could eat spaghetti twice a day!)

U is for Udon

V is for Veg

W is for Wonton

X is for ‘wedge’ (actually X is for Xanthan gum which can be added to gluten-free cakes and breads to make them more ‘wedge-y’)

Y is for Yam

Z is for when it comes to rhyming I’ve done ‘Zee’ best that I can

Here is the recipe for The Best Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies courtesy of Leigh Anne at Your Home Based Mom. I highly recommend making these and singing Cookie Monster’s favourite song while you do. Enjoy!

Ingredients

1/2 Cup butter, softened
3/4 Cup peanut butter, creamy
3/4 Cup brown sugar
3/4 Cup white sugar
1 egg
1 Tbsp milk
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
1 1/4 Cup flour
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 Cup chocolate chips

Directions

Cream together butter and peanut butter.
Add in sugars.
Mix in egg, milk and vanilla
Next add in flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt.
Form dough into balls.
Roll in sugar or add 1 Cup chocolate chips
Place on cookie sheet and use hand to slightly flatten the balls of dough
Bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes or until barely brown. Do not over bake. They should look like they need to bake for another minute or two.

Copyright © YourHomeBasedMom

This entry was posted in The Scribble Pad and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to C is for Cookie

  1. dulzimordash says:

    Reblogged this on Nature’s Abhorred Vacuum.

Leave a Reply

